8 Comments
Jan 13, 2022Liked by Teodora Agarici

I was really surprised by Flea's autobiography, I don't really like reading autobiographies but I decided to go for it because of the title: "acid for the children". Currently super struggling with James Joyce's Ulysses, I can't bring myself to finish it...any tips? Next up will be Dante's trilogy that i chose to go for in its original language.

Expand full comment
author

Ugh, James Joyce's Ulysses is a notoriously difficult read. Did you know that the book has inspired Bloomsday, a day where people all over the world celebrate James Joyce and dress up like characters from his book? Also here's a funny/interesting quote – apparently from James Joyce himself – on this: " If Ulysses isn't worth reading, then life isn't worth living." As for Dante's trilogy in Italian – wow! Respect!

Expand full comment
Jan 14, 2022Liked by Teodora Agarici

Really? That is really cool! I love character play! It is really difficult but interesting. I'm not giving up on it that easy. Thanks, always wanted to read it in Italian but never found an edition that was pleasant, then santa got a good edition for me😬

Expand full comment
author

Definitely jealous! Enjoy it and let me know how it goes!

Expand full comment
Dec 14, 2021Liked by Teodora Agarici

I was just writing down my list, so great timing!

Here are my non-fiction favourites:

- Maybe you should talk to someone, Lori Gottlieb

- The Etymologicon, Mark Forsyth

- Atomic Habits, James Clear

- My Friend Anna, Rachel DeLoache Williams

- Nu te gasesc pe nicaieri, Laura Ionescu

- Untamed, Glennon Doyle

And my favourite fiction books:

- Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen

- Exhalation, Ted Chiang

- A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini

- The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, Stuart Turton

- Americanah, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

- Daisy Jones and the Six, Taylor Jenkins Reid

- The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Taylor Jenkins Reid

I think this is the first year in a long time in which the fiction list is longer :o

SO curious about your own list!

Expand full comment
author

Excellent, as always! And I'll add some of your suggestions on my TBR! :)

Expand full comment
Dec 14, 2021Liked by Teodora Agarici

Nice to see you on a Tuesday, Teodora... I'm a bit behind on my reading, but hoping to catch up. This is a good question and seeing that this is a new thing for Tuesdays it makes me think of the book by Emily P. Freeman, Simply Tuesday. Looking back, I guess I read it last year, during 2020, but truly time passes by in a blur... especially during a pandemic! In any case, it gave me a lot to think about and I loved her perspective about the reminders Tuesdays bring for her: Being present, appreciating the small things, having gratitude....

Expand full comment
author

Aww, hi Tonya! Thank you for participating in my first ever thread on Substack! I was so happy to see your name popping up! As for 'Simply Tuesday' - this sounds like the book I need to read right now with Christmas around the corner!

Expand full comment